MetroTech BID

Founded in 1992 as a non-profit business improvement district, the MetroTech Businss Improvement District (MTBID) works to further the revitalization of the 16-acre MetroTech Center, bounded by Jay Street, Johnson Street, Flatbush Avenue, and Myrtle Avenue. As a commercial and academic hub, MetroTech is home to major corporations like JP Morgan Chase, National Grid, and Empire Blue Cross Blue Shield; media and advertising companies like El Diario La Prensa and UniWorld Group; and academic institutions like Polytechnic Institute of NYU. In the fall of 2013, NYU's Center for Urban Science and Progress will also begin classes.

At the heart of MetroTech is the Commons, a 3.5-acre open space that hosts events including concerts, health fairs, film screenings, and holiday celebrations.

Programs and Services:
MTBID initiatives include a robust public safety program, sanitation services, and marketing and promotional services throughout a 25-square block district to businesses, universities, residences, and government agencies. For a complete list of resources available through all the BIDs in Downtown Brooklyn, download a copy of our BID Services Brochure.

FY14 Board of Directors:

Ashley Cotton, Forest City Myrtle Associates. (Chair)
John Bowen, 330 Jay Street Condominiums
Ron Cohen, Resident Board Member - Oro (Vice-Chair)
Dennis Dintino, NYU/Polytechnic Institute
Ali Esmaeilzadeh, Forest City Flatbush Associates (Secretary)
Kai Feder, Office of the Brooklyn Borough President
Eoin Fitzgerald, Rabina Properties Kenya Handy, Office of the NYC Comptroller
Rachel Harari, First New York Partners
Gale Stevens Haynes, Long Island University
Sharon Joyce, Muss Development (Treasurer)
Jeff Kay, Muss Development
Albert Laboz, United American Land
Steve Levin, Council Member NYC District 33
Gene Limia, JP Morgan Chase (Vice-Chair) William Lukashok, Hill Country Hospitality
Lori Pavese Mazor, Resident Board Member - Avalon  
James Mettham, NYC Dept. of Small Business Services Andrew Miller, Forest City Ratner Tech Associates Al Pankin, US Auto School
Martin Piazzola, Avalon Bay Communities, Inc.
Michael Rapfogel, Forest City Jay Street Associates
Victor Vora, Victor's Hallmark Shop
Terry Whalen, 625 Fulton Associates
Sheldon Wright, JP Morgan Chase

Statutory Members:
Mayor Bill de Blasio (Representative: NYC Department of Small Business Services Commissioner Maria Torres-Springer)
Comptroller Scott Stringer
Brooklyn Borough President Eric Adams
City Council Member Laurie Cumbo
City Council Member Stephen Levin

Download our most recent annual report and financial statements below:

MTBID FY2013 Annual Report
MTBID FY2013 Audited Financial Statements

Contact Us: 
If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Ryan Grew, MetroTech BID Services Manager.

Downtown Brooklyn Partnership
1 MetroTech Center North, Suite 1003
Brooklyn, NY 11201
Tel: 718.403.1644
Fax: 718.403.1650